The MIIRE group is composed of five permanent researchers from the Institut Telecom and University Lille 1, and several PhD students with grants from various institutions. The group also invited famous international researchers for short or long periods.

Scientific head

Permanent members

Non-permanent members

PhD students

  • Xia Baiqiang (China Scholarship Concil (CSC), PhD Computer Science, expected 2014). PhD advisor: Mohamed Daoudi. Co-directed by Boulbaba Ben Amor;
  • Maxime Devanne (Telecom Lille/Univ Firenze (Italia), PhD Computer Science, expected 2015). PhD advisor: Mohamed Daoudi. Co-directed by Hazem Wannous;
  • Vincent Léon (ANR grant, PhD Computer Science, expected 2016). PhD advisors: Jean-Philippe Vandeborre and Guillaume Lavoué (LIRIS, Lyon 1);
  • Rim Slama (University Lille 1 and Région Nord-Pas-de-Calais grant, PhD Computer Science, expected 2014). PhD advisor: Mohamed Daoudi. Co-directed by Hazem Wannous.

The MIIRE research group on December, 13th, 2010.

Former visiting researchers

These visiting periods have been supported by University Lille and CPER CIA.
  • Anuj Srivastava, Professor at the Department of Statistics, Florida State University, USA (13 months, 2007, 2008, 2009);
  • Mohammed Bennamoun, Professor at the University of Western Australia (UWA) (1 month, 2009);
  • Eric Paquet, Senior Research Officer at National Research Council of Canada Institute for Information Technology (2008);
  • Stefano Berretti, Assistant-professor at University of Florence, Italy (1 month, 2010);
  • Faouzi Ghorbel, Professor at ENSI, Tunisia (1 month, 2010).

Former students

  • Rachid El Khoury, PhD 2013;
  • Ahmed Maalej, PhD 2012 (ATER);
  • Lahoucine Ballihi, PhD 2012 (assistant-professor, Telecom Lille, France);
  • Halim Benhabiles, PhD 2011 (associate-professor, ESIGELEC, Rouen, France);
  • Hedi Tabia, PhD 2011 (associate-professor, ENSEA, Cergy-Pontoise, France);
  • Hassen Drira, PhD 2011 (associate-professor, Institut Mines-Telecom, France);
  • Julien Tierny, PhD 2008 (permanent researcher, LTCI CNRS, Paris, France);
  • Sannaa El Fkihi, PhD 2008 (assistant-professor, ENSIAS, Morocco);
  • Chafik Samir, PhD 2007 (associate-professor, University of Clermont-Ferrand, France);
  • Tarik Filali Ansary, PhD 2006 (assistant-director, Normasys, France);
  • Huicheng Zheng, PhD 2004 (lecturer, Guangzhou University, China);
  • Saïd Mahmoudi, PhD 2003 (assistant-professor, University of Mons, Belgium);
  • Jean-Philippe Vandeborre, PhD 2002 (associate-professor, Institut Mines-Telecom, France);
  • Ahmed El Oirrak, PhD 2001 (associate-professor, University Gadi Ayyad, Marrakech, Morocco);
  • Stanislaw Matusiak, PhD 1999 (computer engineering consultant, France);
  • George Vass, PhD 1997 (engineer, Nokia, Hungaria).


  • 2013-03-22: Rachid El Khoury's Phd Thesis defense.
  • 2012-06-15: Jean-Philippe Vandeborre's HDR defense.
  • 2012-05-24: CORESA 2012 at TELECOM Lille1, 24-25 May 2012.
  • 2012-05-23: Ahmed Maalej's PhD Thesis defense.
  • 2012-05-12: Lahoucine Ballihi's PhD Thesis defense.
  • 2012-01-24: SHREC'12 3D-mesh segmentation track.
  • 2012-01-17: Some new publications at the very beginning of 2012.
  • 2011-11-18: Job offer – PhD Research Position.
  • 2011-10-18: Halim Benhabiles' PhD Thesis defense.
  • 2011-09-27: Hedi Tabia's PhD Thesis defense.
  • 2011-07-04: Hassen Drira's PhD Thesis defense.